413 King St Newtown / FREE Australia shipping orders over $150

Various - Greenhouse Vol. I LP

Various - Greenhouse Vol. I LP

Deep Water Records

Regular price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price

From Deep Water Records...

Greenhouse Vol. I is a striking compilation of new electronic music emerging from the far-flung western corner of the Australian continent; the Whadjuk region around Perth. The artists represented, themselves contributors- turned-alumni of the Greenhouse, have turned in tracks that deftly illustrate a long, dreamy evening inside the Greenhouse – “a place of warmth and recovery through the exchange of music and good company”.

From the opener, Mei Saraswati’s ‘Wannaz’, to the closer, Late Night Protocol’s ‘Drone Clarity’, there are palpable atmospheric and aesthetic threads running right the way through this Greenhouse compilation. CTP’s ‘untitled’ detours into gauzy dub techno territory, whereas Dentistry’s ‘Resin’ floats skittishly into almost free-time space.

Those familiar with Phil Stroud’s sublime drumming will likely also appreciate the exercise in restraint and colour he displays on ‘Harp Dub’. For those of you as of yet unfamiliar with Lia T, she follows up Sketches222, also released on Deep Water, with ‘Mini Jewel’, yet another strong addition to her growing catalog of loosely ambient sketches and field-recording-adjacent sound works.

Hame DJ and Roza Terenzi convene on ‘Pinky’s Network’, a percussive workout decked-out and resplendent in the sonic cues fans of each will recognise; similarly, Basic Mind’s ‘Sicilian Slide’ slips into the Balearic territory of prior outings with a robust, emphatic broken-beat. In addition, Leaving’s ‘Detached Lines’, a fragile, gorgeous spurling of meditative pads and phrases, touches on the best shades and tones developed across an expansive recorded output.