413 King St Newtown / FREE Australia shipping orders over $150

Rudimentary Peni - Death Church LP

Rudimentary Peni - Death Church LP

Sealed Records

Regular price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
In stock

RP's iconic debut album is readily available for the first time in my life!
Let's pop the bubbly and celebrate this sure-fire party starter! Doing this one written justice would send me into a half day doom spiral pondering the darker side of human existence, so I'm gonna pass on that and simply recommend this record to anyone after a profound and intense listening experience. - Nic

The words legendary, seminal, and classic get thrown around at will these days, but Rudimentary Peni’s debut album is all of them. Recorded over two days at Southern Studios by John Loder and originally released in 1983 by Crass off-shoot label Corpus Christi, Death Church showed a band moving away from the urgency of their two early 7”s and into their own realm. Creating a template that bands have been trying to replicate ever since, while ticking all the boxes to become a genre-defining album. Iconic artwork, a unique sound and their own lyrical universe. All merging seamlessly. Sonically the album is full of Nick Blinko’s extraordinary vocals and equally remarkable guitar, Grant Matthews’ big meandering driving basslines and Jon Greville's tight and relentless drum work which together made something intricate and hard hitting, with a sequence that makes the 21 songs on the album flow perfectly. Visually, the album is every outsider art lover’s wet dream. A six-panel poster sleeve with every inch covered in Nick Blinko’s claustrophobic black and white line drawings, while lyrically the songs deal with madness, religion, death, and questioning humankind from a dark poetic place rarely found in any art form. - Sealed Records