413 King St Newtown / FREE Australia shipping orders over $150

Dreamin' Wild - Heaven In Thirty Eleven LP

Dreamin' Wild - Heaven In Thirty Eleven LP


Regular price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price

Dreamin' Wild's second album Heaven in Thirty Eleven owes a lot to Footscray. The inner-western suburb of Melbourne features not only in the album title (its postcode is 3011) but goes deeper to form a central part of the recordÕs narrative and reflection.

For all six members - Chris Jennings (Swazi Gold, Sagamore, Sledgehammer), Sam Cooper (Crepes, Swazi Gold, Sagamore, Sledgehammer), Tim Karmouche (Crepes, Swazi Gold, The Murlocs), Sarah Quirk, Monty Hartnett (Sleep Decade, Miris, Sagamore) and James Guida (Laguna, Environments) - Footscray buoyed periods of music exploration and discovery. After more than six years of writing, rehearsing and recording in the suburb, thereÕs no doubt that Footscray is home for the band.

Jennings adds that the album is, "a bit of a recap of the last three years for Dreamin' Wild," drawing attention to the change and growth many of the eight songs have undergone since creation.

'I Don't Disagree' is an album highlight; an almost seven-minute track that struts along calmly, taking life as it is. Quirk's soulful refrain soars atop Jennings' laconic vocals, carrying the song to its end. 'Dynon Life' is another album gem, reminiscent of summer in the city, and happy seeking excess.

Heaven in Thirty Eleven is an ode to a Melbourne suburb brimming with culture and stories, made by artists who are proud to call it home.