413 King St Newtown / FREE Australia shipping orders over $150

Bruce Russell & Roy Montgomery - Split LP

Bruce Russell & Roy Montgomery - Split LP


Regular price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
In stock

A split LP featuring side length tracks by two free noise avant-garde pioneers, Bruce Russell and Roy Montgomery. Both artists hail from the fertile New Zealand music scene and have been making challenging, inspirational sounds since the early 1980's.

Russell is known primarily as one of the driving forces in the seminal band The Dead C, as well as the founder of the important Xpressway and Corpus Hermeticum labels. His experimental guitar work can also be heard in his other band, A Handful of Dust, as well as on solo recordings.

Roy Montgomery released his first single as part of The Pin Group in 1981 on Flying Nun Records. He went on to collaborate in the influential Dadamah as well as a number of other New Zealand bands in the 80_s and 90_s. In the mid-90_s he made a solo trip around the world which resulted in a wealth of releases showcasing his solo instrumental investigations. His mesmerizing guitar pieces are awash in open tunings and drones. He can also be found on recordings under the name Hash Jar Tempo in the band Bardo Pond.